National Museum of Fine Arts

This splendid palace, known as Admiralty House during the British period, was among the first buildings erected in Valletta but it was rebuilt in its present form between 1761 and 1765. The palace, spread over three floors, houses paintings, sculptures, furniture and other exhibits connected with the Order of St. John having works by Domenico di Michelino, Carpaccio, Perugino, Tintoretto, Reni, Valentin, Mathias Stomer, Preti, Tiepolo, Ribera, Favray and Vernet. The museum also has a unique collection of coins and medals which may be viewed by appointment.